is a website powered by the Texas Secretary of State. A visit to this website will give you all you need to know about how to become a registered voter in the State of Texas. The eligibility criteria, application and requirements are clearly posted there. If you are not sure if you are registered, there is a link to type in your name, date of birth and zip code, and a response will quickly tell your voting status. Spanish speaking voters can get information at the following website,

To vote in Texas, you must be registered at least 30 days before the election date so the deadline for registration is Tuesday, October 9. If you are 18 years of age and a resident of Archer County you can register to vote by completing an online application and mailing it to the Archer County Voter Registrar’s office or pick up an application at the Archer County Tax Acsseors’ office, a local post office or the Archer Library. Archer County Election Administrator is Vicki Wright. Her email is The phone number to her office is 940-574-2645. They are physically located at 100 S Center Street, 3rd Floor of the Archer County Courthouse. The mailing address is P.O. Box 428, Archer City, Texas.

Wright indicated to the Archer County News, her office is available to answer any and all questions.

Archer County voters can now vote at any of the established vote centers. Be watching the Archer County News for information about locations, voting by mail, and early voting. The first day for Early Voting is Monday, October 22.

Archer County eligible citizens are encouraged to register and vote. Several issues of great importance to all Texans will be decided by officials elected. Your vote counts. Voters should educate themselves on issues affecting their daily lives and vote for candidates who support those important issues.

Below is a listing of local and statewide candidates:

U.S. Senate

Democrat – Beto O’Rourke

Libertarian – Neal Dikeman

Republican – Ted Cruz (Incumbent)

U.S. Representative District 13

Democrat – Greg Sagan

Libertarian – Calvin DeWeese

Republican – Mac Thornberry (Incumbent)


Democrat – Lupe Valdez

Libertarian – Mark Tippetts

Republican – Greg Abbott (Incumbent)

Lieutenant Governor

Democrat – Mike Collier

Libertarian – Kerry McKennon

Republican – Dan Patrick (Incumbent)

Attorney General

Democrat – Justin Nelson

Libertarian – Michael Ray Harris

Republican – Ken Paxton (Incumbent)


Democrat – Joi Chevalier

Libertarian – Ben Sanders

Republican – Glenn Hegar (Incumbent)

Land Commissioner

Democrat – Miguel Suazo

Libertarian – Matt Pina

Republican – George P. Bush (Incumbent)

Agricultural Commissioner

Democrat – Kim Olson

Libertarian – Richard Carpenter

Republican – Sid Miller (Incumbent)

Railroad Commissioner

Democrat – Roman McAllen

Libertarian – Mike Wright

Republican – Christi Craddick (Incumbent)

State Representative District 69

Republican – James Frank (Incumbent)

State Senate District 30

Democrat – Kevin Lopez

Independent – Keely Briggs

Republican – Pat Fallon

County Judge

Republican - Randall C. (Randy) Jackson

District Clerk

Republican - Lori Stubbs Rutledge

County Clerk

Republican - Karren Winter

County Treasurer

Republican – Patricia (P.A.)Vieth

County Commissioner Pct 2

Republican – Darin Wolf

County Commissioner Pct 4

Republican – Darryl Lightfoot

Justice of the Peace Pct 1

Republican - Joe Aulds

Justice of the Peace Pct 2

Republican – Corky Scarbrough

Justice of the Peace Pct 3

Republican – Robby Shawver

Democrat – Lawrence J. Smith

Justice of the Peace Pct 4

Republican – Wayne Lindemann

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.